Animekon
A flat chest is fine, too!
Domain for Sale
RSS
Advertise here
The surprisingly popular action-RPG The World Ends With You, originally released in 2007 for the Nintendo DS, is all but officially getting a sequel (for the 3DS?), according to some not-so-subtle hints dropped by Square Enix's Tetsuya Nomura in a recent interview. Speaking about its characters making a cameo appearance in Kingdom Hearts 3D, Nomura mentioned that they decided to do voice casting for one of them - Rhyme - "out of consideration for the future of The World Ends With You series".

The World Ends With You wallpaper

Of course, if the world would litterally end with you, such trivial gaming topics might give way to more exciting ones - high-stakes gambling, anyone?... Or if it's a more accessible kind of excitement that you're after, a couple of alternatives come to mind (...)

>  Continue reading 'The World Ends With You Sequel Hinted'...
The PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 version of Persona 4: The Ultimate in Mayonaka Arena is beeing listed by Famitsu for an August 2 release in Japan. Adding to the game's original version for the arcades from last month, the home consoles edition of Persona 4 Arena introduces a story mode (screenshots) featuring a large number of new scenarios.

Persona 4: The Ultimate in Mayonaka Arena

Another freshly announced release date is now listing Capcom's upcoming CG film sequel Resident Evil: Damnation for an October 27 premiere in Japanese theaters. (...)

>  Continue reading 'Checkpoint: Persona 4, Damnation, One Piece Z'...
This week's announcement of a Nintendo 3DS sequel for last year's all-girls ninja action game Senran Kagura also included a bit about a TV anime series adaptation, likewise in the making. No details seem to have been provided about the Senran Kagura anime, but the 3DS game sequel, at least, was revealed to be set for an August 30 release in Japan.

Senran Kagura gallery

Titled Senran Kagura Burst, the new game features the opposing ninja faction from Viper Academy as playable characters, and adds stereoscopic 3D support (...)

>  Continue reading 'Senran Kagura Game Gets TV Anime, 3DS Sequel'...
Last update - Apr 13, 19:28 GMT (14:28 EST, 11:28 PST)

Just a quick catch-up with some of this week's headlines of interest, which sadly I can't cover in more detail at the moment, due to various offline reasons... For starters, the third Nogizaka Haruka anime will not be a TV series as previously assumed, but a 4-episode OVA titled Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu: Finale. No release timeframe yet.

Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu

The recently announced PSP game adaptation of AnoHana is now set for an August 30 release in Japan. A couple of other game release dates have also been set (...)

>  Continue reading 'Checkpoint: Nogizaka, AnoHana PSP, Corpse Party'...
Last update - Apr 6, 14:46 GMT (09:46 EST, 06:46 PST)

The previously revealed game adaptation of Eureka Seven AO appears to be a PlayStation 3 title, planned by Namco Bandai as a hybrid disc release with the anime's future Blu-ray edition. A similar hybrid disc project is also being reported to bundle a game adaptation of the Lagrange anime series. As a reminder, the TV anime series Eureka Seven AO will start airing next week, from April 13, and yesterday a new trailer was released for it.

Update: That "future Blu-ray edition" is actually a Eureka 7 AO OVA. And the Lagrange game for the PS3 will be similarly bundled with the Lagrange OVA Kamogawa Days, out on June 23. No release date was announced at this time for the new Eureka 7 OVA, however.

Eureka Seven AO key visual


All right, that's it: it's official! The To Love-Ru Darkness anime project is most definitely a TV series, according to the May issue of Shueisha's Jump Square magazine (...)

>  Continue reading 'Checkpoint: Eureka 7 AO, To Love-Ru, Kenshin'...
Last update - Apr 4, 12:36 GMT (07:36 EST, 04:36 PST)

Yet another follow-up story regarding the format of To Love-Ru Darkness now says that this recently announced anime project might not be a TV series, as reported by AnimeAnime.jp a couple of days ago. Their article has since removed any mention of "TV" for the anime's format - which is not to say that it won't be a TV series, just... not officially, yet.

Update #3: Follow-up story: it's a TV anime, officially.

To Love-Ru Golden Darkness

So the first day of ACE 2012 only had 20,780 attendees, in part due to the bad weather that messed up the public transports. Well, I dunno what the weather was like on Sunday (...)

>  Continue reading 'Checkpoint: To Love-Ru, ACE 2012, April Fools''...
Last update - Apr 4, 12:35 GMT (07:35 EST, 04:35 PST)

As a follow-up to yesterday's announcement of a To Love-Ru Darkness anime project, the AnimeAnime.jp website has a report about a "Secret Event" held by Geneon Universal at Anime Contents Expo today. There they revealed the format of this upcoming adaptation, as being a TV anime series. Meanwhile, its official website now shows a lovely key visual with the title character, Golden Darkness. No release timeframe yet.

Update: Follow-up story: or maybe not a TV anime...
Update #2: Follow-up story: it's a TV anime, officially.

To Love-Ru Darkness key visual

Japanese game maker Gust has finally released some official screenshots and artworks for the recently announced new fantasy RPG Atelier Ayesha. The images focus on (...)

>  Continue reading 'Checkpoint: To Love-Ru, Ayesha, HoshiMemo'...
By now it's April 1 in Japan, so whatever "announcements" you read for the remainder of this weekend, take them with limited enthusiasm and unlimited skepticism... Having said that, a Japanese fansite is "reporting" that the PS3 game Tales of Xillia is getting an OVA adaptation from studio ufotable. They claim-slash-joke that the anime will have 4 volumes, with the first one releasing this autumn.

Tales of Xillia

A new "non-game" Angel Beats! project will be announced on April 10, according to Dengeki G's Magazine's official Twitter account (via ANN). More about it (...)

>  Continue reading 'Checkpoint: Xillia, Angel Beats!, Bravely Default'...
A game adaptation of the upcoming anime Saint Seiya Omega, for an unnamed platform, has been announced for a Fall 2012 release by Namco Bandai. The publisher shared what appears to be an in-game (or at least "in-engine") screenshot, but other specifics about the game were not detailed at this time.

Saint Seiya Omega

The TV anime series Saint Seiya Omega starts airing in Japan tomorrow, April 1. It is created by Toei Animation, and marks the first new television anime adaptation (...)

>  Continue reading 'Saint Seiya Omega Anime Gets Game'...
Having saved the best for last, the most notable new titled announced today by Fuji TV at its anticipated Noitamina press conference is Robotics;Notes, complete with a debut trailer. This TV anime adaptation will air in Japan from October 2012 and, according to Famitsu, it's created by studio Production I.G. The other freshly revealed projects are Psycho-Pass (also set for October) and Natsuyuki Rendez-vous (July).

Robotics;Notes Anime Trailer

The Robotics;Notes anime is based on the third entry in the "augmented science adventure" game series developed by 5pb. and Nitroplus, following (...)

>  Continue reading 'Robotics;Notes TV Anime Announced For October'...
Advertise here

Copyright © Animekon 2006-2014